KEXP BBQ Preview

pela-bbq.jpg

Is it that time already? This weekend is a great kick-off of music for me – KEXP is hosting their 5th annual BBQ this year in Seattle and if you don’t know already, this is a great cause and a great opportunity to get out and meet some KEXP’ers. I really think the line-up this year will be much more appealing to everyone. I especially like the Blue Scholars headlining with a full 8 piece backing band – I’m anxious for more people to see just how talented these guys are. This line-up is pretty crazy for a station benefit show – I’m equally excited myself to finally see Pela. These guys are a rock unit out of Brooklyn and I absolutely love their new album – Anytown Graffiti. I don’t know how to describe it other than to say it’s just great rock music, so give them a listen here. Their live shows are getting rave reviews, but I’ll let my own ears be the judge of that…

Cloud Cult and The Blakes are also playing – so the line-up couldn’t be more diverse. Each of them will bring their own brand of music from the Hard Rock of The Blakes to the part music/interpretive art show of Cloud Cult. And the Cave Singers? I’ve never heard them personally but I know they’re local so they better bring it! (so are The Blakes, but I already know they bring it!)

~ by clickdagger on August 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
