Radiohead – In Rainbows

in-rainbows.jpg

Well, the new Radiohead album has been out for just about a month now so I’ve had a  chance to give it a good critical listen. Immediately, a couple songs really stand out to me that I keep coming back to – Tracks 4 and 5 (Weird Fishes and All I Need). Although the entire album is pure “steak”; these two tracks are are what I would consider the “sizzle” of In Rainbows. I really appreciate their attempt at making a very artistic statement with song placement and making it so accessible to so many people so quickly (1.2 million downloads on the 1st day!). Turning an album into a story isn’t a new concept, but in the age of digital downloads and instant gratification on iTunes – it’s refreshing to hear. In Rainbows does that very well, it’s a very moody album from start to finish. The heavy synth/sampling intro and Acoustic Guitar ending seemed somewhat symbolic, but maybe I don’t know enough about Radiohead to “get it”. I’ve heard that the album also ties in somehow with OK Computer – but I have yet to test the theory myself. Gotta give props to Pitchfork for their excellent track-by-track rundown of the new album – complete with videos and samples. Check it out here.   

I really love this new album. Enjoy……………..

~ by clickdagger on October 24, 2007.

One Response to “Radiohead – In Rainbows”

  1. I was searching for this kind of a blog for months now. Actually lost the hope of finding one, but here i am 🙂 Thanks for the great articles! Looking forward for a little read after dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
