Sasquatch, Coachella, Bumbershoot, and New Releases

Wow, 2008 is shaping to be a great year for music and absolutely everything it touches. The industry is re-writing itself almost everyday and it’s been fascinating to watch it from afar. If I could figure a way to harness all this I would be rich, but even I don’t have a clue where all this is headed. Of course that same uncertainty and “New Frontier” mentality also make it that much more appealing to me. Talk about a double-edged sword ass whooping! Now I’m starting to even see a few “fan supported” labels popping up which is an interesting concept that seems to have some legs. My chief concern is that people have been listening to (i.e. force-fed) bad music for so long, they might know what good music even sounds like anymore. They might have to be “led” down the right path and so there goes that model…

Summer is right around the corner though and that always means one thing: Festivals! I want to start by saying I’m way impressed with Coachella this year. All I can say is Prince playing is a BIG FUCKING DEAL! Find out how many Festivals he’s ever played and it makes it even that much bigger. Hype it up people. Hey, we also managed to have a few decent line-ups for a couple of our own little local events. For instance, Sasquatch has R.E.M. and Modest Mouse, The Cure and Death Cab for Cutie, and The Flaming Lips doing their UFO show! – I’m not even sure what that even is, but it sounds pretty bad ass! And even though it’s way early: Stone Temple Pilots and Beck are both confirmed for Bumbershoot.

I promise New Music and rare finds and I will deliver. So for New Releases you will definitely want to pick up the new Does it Offend You, Yeah? CD, but then you already knew to do that after my previous posts.

Here’s a few fresh new bands on the UK tip:

Florence and The Machine – I heard a lot of chatter about them at SXSW and with good reason. Radar Magazine’s best of show? What you say? Very cool stuff. Check references of her and said water fountain. Thank me later. Chill out and listen to this. Throwing Bricks Rehearsal – peep that song. Wow.

The Wombats – Fresh from Liverpool bitches. Check out Moving to New York for a nice sample of their work. Exactly the poppy mess I’d expect from a group of snot-nosed British kids – but you’ll love it.

The Foals – Want to know why Sub Pop signed these guys? Cause they kill, and their sound is completely original. Swimming against the current (the U.K. Pop scene) in a river of mediocrity (also, the U.K. Pop scene) – this is wonderful stuff. Playing local May 30th!

~ by clickdagger on April 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
