The most explosive show at Bumbershoot: Monotonix

Monotonix shut down in Seattle

Monotonix shut down in Seattle

As a Music writer and Scene Editor for Maximum Rock & Roll and Razorcake Magazines for many years, I’ve seen more Punk shows than just about anyone I know and have listened to a lot of bands over the years. I have to say that the Monotonix set at Bumbershoot this past weekend may have been one of the best short Punk sets I’ve seen in 10 years. I know enough about Monotonix from their last Seattle appearance that they have an energetic wild live show, so when I saw them come up on the Bumbershoot Calendar this year, I was more than intrigued to see them play. Even more intriguing was the fact that the ever knowing Bumbershoot staff decided to put them inside the absolute worst venue at the festival: The Exhibition Hall. God do I loathe that place, and trust me I’m not alone. I knew this was a train wreck waiting to happen, that’s exactly why I had to watch. You’d think with the  internet and Youtube, Bumbershoot staff should have though this thru a little better.

YOU LIMITED MY EXPERIENCE AS A FAN AND FUCKING WASTED THE BANDS TIME!

For the unititiated, Monotonix are an Israeli Punk Band with a reputation for outrageous live shows -sans stage, and lighting shit on fire. When I first walked into the Exhibition Hall, I could see them set-up in the middle of the floor and not on the stage, so this was an encouraging sign. Of course just as I predicted, it all came crashing down in a matter of minutes. You’ve never seen a more confused Security staff! The band ripped thru about 4 songs before things started getting “out of hand” with a plastic trash can being tossed around (I actually thought the environment was quite safe). Then, once the band started getting lifted above the crowd, that was all it took before the Fire Marshall and Police pulled the plug on the enraged crowd. What the audience didn’t know was that the band had a pre- arranged agreement with the Seattle Fire Department not to crowd surf during the performance. The Monotonix guys admitted after the show it was a bit hard to control when you are caught up in the moment and you find yourself lifted above the crowd. They were dissapointed but did a good job defusing a potentially volatile situation. These guys may be wild, but they were pros. In the end I had a chance to take this cool photo that just about sums up everything you need to know about these guys. American Punk Rock should take a page out of their playbook…..

~ by clickdagger on September 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “The most explosive show at Bumbershoot: Monotonix”

  1. So Thats Why. Weird. They Were Awesome Though.

  2. […] (At The Gorge no less? They could end up setting the whole damn place on fire. Don’t miss these […]

Leave a Reply

 
