My Top 10 Albums of 2008

 

Deerhunter in a psychedelic glow...

Deerhunter in an appropriate psychedelic glow...

I already gave this over to KEXP – which you can view HERE; but I wanted to make sure I shared here at the Dagger as well. Plus, a few extra tidbets for the diehards of course! 

From what I’ve seen from some of my other cohorts out there, 2008 seems to be the year of eclectic tastes because I’ve seen a wide range in opinions out there. I think that’s a good thing; plus, it’s hard to choose with so much good music released this year. There were quite a few I unfortunately had to leave off that should probably be mentioned (and I did my best to do that), but I’ve always kinda hated putting a number to these things anyway. The most fun for me was looking back at some of the releases earlier in the year, I do think timing has a little bit to do with some people’s selections though (and you’d be naive to think  that labels don’t time these releases for a reason), but I think this list is as good as any:

My Top 10 of 2008

1. TV on the RadioDear Science

2. DeerhunterMicrocastle

3. Fleet FoxesFleet Foxes

4. Beach HouseDevotion

5. Kings of LeonOnly by the Night 

6. Friendly FiresFriendly Fires 

7. Bon IverFor Emma, Forever Ago

8. Black MountainIn the Future

9. GlasvegasGlasvegas

10. The Kills Midnight Boom

*Honorable Mentions: The Helio Sequence – Keep Your Eyes Ahead, No Age – Nouns, The Verve – Fourth, Sigur Rós – Með Suð Í Eyrum Við Spilum Endalaust, Dungen – 4, MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

~ by clickdagger on December 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
