A bunch of stupid songs: Wavves at Neumo’s in Seattle 8/25

This is my favorite beach in California. Do you know where it is?

You wouldn’t think a bunch of stoners could get a Neumo’s crowd rocking so hard, but Wednesday’s show would have proved you wrong. And to be honest with you, I didn’t read all the Pitchfork crap about them either. I already know Wavves is a super-hyped band of the moment and their new album “King of the Beach” is amazing, blah blah blah. Just because “those people” love them does that mean I immediately have to hate them? Regardless of what I personally think about their new album (and I think it’s amazing), the stage is still the great equalizer isn’t it? You just never know how a band is going to translate live. Last time I heard Wavves they were still a 2-piece, so this was like seeing a whole new band for me.

The band started casually late, entering the stage with a slight hint of skunk behind them, as the drummer immediately asked if we all liked his leather vest (Um, NO?). After a quick intro, a random woman from the crowd with a bear mask and a Wavves shirt got on stage for some comical banter with the band before they ripped into their hit single “King of the Beach”. You might say this is when things got “jumpy”. Hell, it was hard NOT to get jumpy at a great song like this, arguably a lot of people’s current anthem to the summer; maybe even mine. This was a hell of a lot more fun than I thought it was going to be.

The awesomeness continued as the band played most of the songs from their new album, nearly all of them inducing tossed drinks and soft moshing near the stage. And despite their blatant attempt at a “I don’t give a fuck” attitude (their intro was “here’s a bunch of stupid songs”); their schtick was finely honed and I found myself laughing at more than a few of the bands hilarious exchanges with the crowd. For instance:

Guy in crowd: “Dude, what happened to your hair?”

Nathan: “I had to cut it homey. They said I looked like Bieber”

What else can I say about Wavves that hasn’t already been written? I guess you just have to see for yourself. I was pretty blown away…

~ by clickdagger on August 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
